The Fair Housing Act declares a national policy of fair housing throughout the United States.   The Fair Housing Act (as amended in 1988) created protected classes of people and prohibits discrimination when selling or renting residential property when based on the following:

  • race
  • color
  • religion
  • sex
  • handicap status (mental or physical)
  • familial status (families with children younger than 18 and pregnant women)
  • national origin